Skip to content

monster mushrooms

January 28, 2009

I was finally able to make it to yoga this week for my makeup class 🙂 I  am much more calm now… i’m loving yoga’s effect on me. I’m really hoping that this weekend when I visit my boyfriend  I can get to some yoga classes. His mom owns a fitness and yoga studio, and her partner who does all of the yoga is amazing. I’m hoping to at least be able to get to one class! She teaches the hardest strength training class everrrr… i took it once and was sore for almost a whole week. My entire body. I think its only during the week though, so i won’t be able to make it. I don’t know how she does it! shes awesome. 

 

I snacked on a cool mint chocolate cliff bar this afternoon so I would be able to make it through until dinner around 8:30. It was AWESOME! A little while ago I wasn’t really a fan of cliff bars, and I didn’t like their texture. But i have grown to love them. They have some rocking flavors, and this is up there with them!  

 

I was stuck in traffic for a while today after work, with the bad weather and all. It took about 3 times as long to get home as it should have. When I was just getting to my house, the sun was setting and you could finally see the sun for the first time today! it was so gray and dreary all day, and the sky looked so beautiful.  Makes you thankful and appreciate everything a little more seeing something so pretty. I couldn’t snatch a great picture with my iphone, but i grabbed the best one i could take so I could show it to you guys 🙂

photo-110

Dinner after yoga was some chinese soup! This had shrimp, poached tilapia fillet, spinach, scallions, some rice, and my FAVORITE asian ingredient… king oyster mushrooms!!! I don’t know if many of you know about these mushrooms, but if you like the taste of a mushroom please rush to the closest asian market and buy some NOW! These are absolutely huge and are the meatiest mushroom ever. They are amazing to stirfry with, and really to add to any type of broth based soup. You just chop them up and cook them! They are the beige looking thing in my soup by the shrimp haha. I don’t think you can get them at the regular grocery store, i’m not sure. But I know that you can get them at the asian store for cheap. I really could eat these mushrooms every day. Just a little something new to put out there!  

photo9

Here’s a pic of them so you can have an idea of what they look like. Monsters! 

200823103742

I’m off to read more of Eat, Pray, Love. I get reallllllly tired when i start to read at night, and usually pass out. That was the story of my life in college. As soon as I would start studying, i would somehow lay down, then somehow fall asleep. My friends would always take pictures as proof that I was “studying”. Well, I’m not getting very far. I’m about half way done, but my girl Amber started the book around exactly the same time as me, and finished! i need to get my gears going!

This is the result of me trying to study. As you can see, this is why I’m only half way done with the book 😛 I think this picture was taken my junior year as I was studying for an art history exam.  hahaaa

n38001580_30844257_2675

21 Comments leave one →
  1. strongandhealthy permalink
    January 28, 2009 10:01 pm

    That’s a beautiful sunset! Your dinner looks great! Hope you get some rest!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  2. January 28, 2009 11:03 pm

    Stuck in traffic? Eeek!
    But wow, that Chinese soup looks amazing!

  3. January 28, 2009 11:26 pm

    haha that is SO my studying pattern…don’t get me anywhere near a horizontal position or I’m out like a light! It’s bad. Have a great night!

  4. January 29, 2009 12:10 am

    Hahaha you’re soo cute!! If it makes you feel any better I spend about 30-45 minutes of my day on the bus which gives me lots of reading time!! What part are you at??

  5. foodsthatfit permalink
    January 29, 2009 12:51 am

    Mmm, I love mushrooms! Love the sleeping pic, that was me all through nursing school!

    Abbie
    FoodsThatFit.wordpress.com

  6. January 29, 2009 2:32 am

    That is one comforting bowl of soup. And thanks for the info on the mushrooms. If I see them I might have to give them a try 😀

  7. January 29, 2009 6:44 am

    You can just say you’re going over what you’ve studied in your mind…that would have been my excuse 😀

  8. January 29, 2009 6:58 am

    hahah I always fall asleep reading/studying! Great pic of you. Glad you’re loving yoga- its so wonderful for your body!

    As for the headhunters- you do not pay them, the company that hires you pays them a “finders fee.” To find ours in Charleston I did general searches on google for headhunters or recruiting firm, Charleston. My Uncle has actually looked for jobs up there using headhunters and been very successful. I will ask him which ones he used!

  9. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 29, 2009 7:53 am

    I love mushrooms! I got to an asian grocery store all the time, because they have a kick ass selection and the best prices! so are King Oyster mushrooms only used in soup?

  10. January 29, 2009 7:53 am

    Glad you made it to yoga!! And enjoy Eat, Pray, Love. It is one of my favorites! I have read it three times =)

  11. January 29, 2009 8:41 am

    What a colourful soup! King oyster mushrooms are one of my favourites! They have a nice mild mushroom flavour and meaty texture. I actually like to grill mine on the bbq in the summer time. Throw on a little bbq sauce and we are good to go!
    – Brittany

  12. January 29, 2009 8:42 am

    Aww cute picture! Haha I definitely have those kind of days!

    Pretty sunset 🙂 I’m a total Clif convert now too – they have so many fab flavors!

  13. January 29, 2009 8:51 am

    That is so me with studying too. I used to fall asleep face first in my text books all the time during college!!

  14. Kate permalink
    January 29, 2009 9:06 am

    HAaha! I like the monster mushroom pic:P

  15. January 29, 2009 9:16 am

    I loved my studying naps when I was in school!!! hahah

    yum on the soup.

  16. January 29, 2009 9:54 am

    Thanks for the tip on the mushrooms! They do look nice and meaty, YUM.
    Enjoy your book 🙂

  17. January 29, 2009 10:42 am

    Those mushrooms are cute! They look kind of like little people.

  18. January 29, 2009 11:14 am

    What a pretty sunset!

  19. January 29, 2009 11:14 am

    Glad you liked the clif bar, that is one of my favorites!

  20. January 29, 2009 11:56 am

    the sky was so pretty last night! and yes, with 95 north shut down around 5pm…I had to take a back way that took forever.

    I have been trying to finish Eat, Pray, Love also and I fall asleep every time! at this rate I should be done sometime next year. 😉

  21. Ryan permalink
    January 29, 2009 1:15 pm

    WOW what a beautiful view of the sky you had! And the trees look so pretty in the sky like that!

    I’m really loving yoga too! I want to start going to a studio more, but for now I’m enjoying doing it at home with DVDs. Both are extremely different experiences though! I hope you get to go to a class or two when you visit you boyfriend!

Leave a Reply

