Skip to content

soup’d out

January 27, 2009

Maryland gets crazy when it starts to snow! All the schools around me were closed today, and the yoga studio by my house was closed today too 😦 HOWEVER, i did happen to get into the lunchtime yoga class at the gym. I definitely think the instructors are much much better at the studio, but any yoga is great for me! My mid day snack today was one of the fiberful fruit bars that Allison sent me. At first I wasn’t really sure if i liked it, but the more I ate it the better it started tasting 🙂 by the end, i was hooked! Thanks Allison!!

photo-63

Lunch today was some tortilla soup, it was pretty spicy! made me sweat a little.  I had some kashi crackers on the side and then had an apple and a chobani to round out the meal. 

photo-53

photo-44

Since I thought I wasn’t going to be eating dinner till 8 since I thought I was going to Yoga, I brought the White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Luna bar with me and ate it as my late afternoon snack. IT WAS GLORIOUS! Either i love the luna bar flavor or i hate it, and this one was a winner. Allison you sure have some great taste girl! 

photo-28

Work today was crazy, but I was able to leave about half an hour early, so I had some time to relax!! I wasn’t really in the mood to make something extravagant for dinner… so soup it was again! haha. I needed something different with it, so I baked a loaf of the easiest bread in the world. BEER BREAD! has anyone ever tried this before? My aunt called the other day to give me the recipe and said it was delicious. It turned out beautifully and had an amazing buttery crust. I forgot  that the crust had butter, so i put some more on the slice. woops 🙂  make this bread. its so quick and simple, not to mention DROOLWORTHY! 

photo-37

Here’s the recipe: 

3 cups sifted flour

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 c sugar

12 oz can of beer

1/2 stick melted butter (you could definitely use less butter if desired)

 

mix dry ingredients and then stir in beer

pour melted butter on top of the dough

bake in a sprayed loaf pan at 375 degrees for 1 hour

photo-19

I wouldn’t necessarily say its the healthiest bread, but it sure is tasty for a special treat!

Dessert was some more kiwi. Perfectly ripe, Costco really does have the best produce!

photo8

 

I’m off to watch the Biggest Loser then knock out a 20 minute yoga download to get my body ready for bed! it’s going to be an early night for this girl. 

 

and thats it!! how simple and easy! make it, i tell you

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 8:37 pm

    Yum! It looks delicious. Maybe that’ll be a little weekend project for me-baking!! Have a good sleep tonight!

  2. strongandhealthy permalink
    January 27, 2009 9:41 pm

    Your beer bread looks delicious! I need to find that Luna. It looks great!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  3. January 27, 2009 9:53 pm

    Mmmm I love beer bread! Thanks for the recipe, I think i might make some tomorrow!

  4. January 27, 2009 9:55 pm

    Costco produce is amazing! It makes organic affordable too…love that place!

  5. January 27, 2009 10:11 pm

    Thanks for the recipe!!! I think thats the perfect easy recipe for me to make tomorrow!! Now I’m DEF making the black bean soup that has been on the “to make” list! it’ll be the PERFECT snow day lunch!!! THANK YOU!!! I’ll be subbing Earth Balance stick for the butter :-p i’ll use vegan cane sugar instead of refined stuff, and probably whole wheat flour LOL b/c thats all I bake with anymore!!

  6. January 27, 2009 10:15 pm

    once again, i swear it’s like I can eat vicariously through you
    happy snow day! I never get them ( excpet last week) but that is what you get when you live in the south!

  7. January 27, 2009 10:22 pm

    That bread sounds fabulous! I wish MI was like that with snow 😦

  8. January 27, 2009 10:25 pm

    I’m the same way with Luna bars. Love them! Or totally can’t stand to finish even eating it.

  9. January 27, 2009 10:27 pm

    heyyy ashley!
    i love your blog!

    elon, yes it is amazing i am really excited to go, i hope i have a good time haha. i’m wise beyond my years though so i hope i fit in okay..you live in maryland?
    did you go to UM??
    my best friends sister goes there and loveeess it.

    your beer bread looks AMAZING.and so does that tortilla soup?
    did you make the soup, buy it??

    your bars & DOG are adorable..
    i’ve been looking for a good bar lately. so tell me which one is your favoriteee!

    i’ll be adding you to my blog roll =)

    !!

    erin

  10. January 27, 2009 10:32 pm

    YAY!!!!!!!! Sooo glad you liked all the items so far!!! 🙂

    I haven’t posted today yet – but I’ve already had 2 arnold thins – IM IN LOVE!

    Don’t be afraid to say you didn’t like something thought – I won’t mind, I’d rather hear your honest review! 🙂

  11. January 28, 2009 12:36 am

    haha love beer, love bread- sounds amazing!

  12. January 28, 2009 1:58 am

    Love the bread! And totally agree with Costco!

  13. January 28, 2009 4:16 am

    That soup looks really good–I wouldn’t mind having it twice in one day! Have you posted the recipe, by chance? Looks so yummy!

  14. Ryan permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:04 am

    I’ve seen a beer bread recipe at ZestyCook’s blog and on Mrs. LC’s. I’ve really been wanting to make some! It looks so yummy and easy! All of your soup looks amazing…especially that last one!

  15. January 28, 2009 12:12 pm

    oooh the soup and beer bread look YUM! I’m off to eat soup (well chili really) now and to hopefully finish the bigget loser! (passed out early and have no idea what happened – hate when I do that!)

  16. January 28, 2009 1:31 pm

    my sister makes that beer bread and it is SO good. LOVE IT!

  17. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 28, 2009 1:41 pm

    Ive never tried beer bread – It sounds really good though, if you like beer bread, you should try guinness cupcakes!

  18. January 28, 2009 4:16 pm

    YUM! I love kiwis. They are so pretty.

    And those new luna bars are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

