Skip to content

sweating bullets

January 23, 2009

wow

 

hot yoga is no joke.

 

After work I headed on over to the gym to get in my run. I ended up doing about 30 minutes of intervals. Intervals really make the run go by so much faster. Plus That 70’s Show was on, so I was watching that and time flew by. Hamstring felt great so the run was a success! I figured I shouldn’t eat dinner before I went to the yoga class, so I dropped by Whole Foods and picked up a Pink Lady apple. This was my first time trying a Pink Lady, and it was realllly really good! I’m not sure if its better than a honeycrisp, but it was a delicious snack. I made sure to have an afternoon snack because I knew i wouldn’t be getting dinner before yoga, so I had my Nature’s Path energy bar. Eh, I wasn’t really a fan. I think the blueberry Z bar and blueberry crisp cliff bar blow this one out of the water personally. 

photo-133

So I’m not quite sure what my rounded out feelings are for Bikram yoga. I got there a little early, and settled into the room. At first I thought it was really hot but then I adjusted and felt fine and did a little stretching before hand. This yoga class was by far the most difficult fitness related thing I have ever done. The room was heated to 90 degrees but there were 30+ people in the class so the instructor said it was definitely over 100. Supposedly people had been complaining that it wasn’t hot enough in the rooms during the classes, so they made sure to up the temp. The heat really  helped with loosening my muscles, i could stretch further than i had been able to any time previously. I felt like I was getting in the groove. But we were switching positions so quickly and kept going back to downward dog, and as i was in downward dog, i was sweating so much that all the sweat from my face came dripping into my nostrils. I mean I played field hockey, and during preseason we’d be outside 8 hours a day in the hottest time of the summer. I sweated more in this class than ever before.  I didn’t even know I could sweat this much. At about the 1 hour point, I had gotten so dizzy that I had to step out of the room and get catch my breath and get some cold air. As I went outside I found that at least 10 other people were out there, saying that this was the hottest the room has ever been and everyone was getting dizzy and nauseous. I sat down and leaned against the table, and I was so dizzy that everything started getting fuzzy. I wasn’t sure if i’d be able to keep it going for another half an hour. I waited it out about 5 or 10 minutes then went back to the class. I was able to push through to the end, and was glad that I finished this INCREDIBLY CHALLENGING class. I mean, anyone who says that yoga isn’t a workout… they’re nuts! This was so much harder than I had anticipated. In the class description, it says that all levels are welcome, and that you can go at your own pace. But the instructor said at the beginning of the class… this is not meant for beginners, its a hard class, if you need to take a breath and go outside, you can definitely do that. She was dead on. I’m not sure if Bikram is for me. I think maybe I need to build up to it because I’m still really very new to yoga. I also probably need to eat something more substantial and drink tonsss of water throughout the day before to make sure I don’t get dizzy again. I want to give it another go at some point when I’m more prepared just to make sure, but for now i’m happy with my yoga 1 series 🙂 which is tomorrow at 8 am! 

When I got home I was so incredibly wiped out. I don’t know the last time I was this tired. I was too exhausted to make anything for myself to eat, so I popped in some Kashi waffles, and dipped it in a little agave and called it a night.(i don’t know what happened to that one little waffle. It came out of the box a little deformed)  

photo-123

I’m typing in my bed right now, and as soon as I finish this post I’ll probably fall asleep immediately. Tomorrow morning is yoga 1, then hopefully i’m going to see if I can drive to Annapolis to cash in this Lululemon Jacket! I’m too excited to wait 🙂 I hope you all had an amazing Friday and enjoy your weekend!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 11:54 pm

    I didn’t enjoy my first experience with Bikram at all. I just felt nauseous and dizzy the entire time. I may have to try it again at another time too though when I’m better prepared for it!

  2. January 24, 2009 12:38 am

    Oh no, I’ve been wanting to try Bikram for quite a while but your review is making me feel a little nervous now… regardless I think I’ll still give it a try once I get the chance, but I hope there is no nausea/dizziness in the mix when I do…
    Enjoy your not-so-hot yoga this time around instead haha

  3. January 24, 2009 9:47 am

    Ah – regular yoga is hot enough for me, I couldn’t imagine Bikram!!

    Love the Kashis 🙂

  4. January 24, 2009 10:13 am

    That sounds SUPER intense!! My nostrils have never felt my sweat… I don’t know if it’s for me!! WOW!

  5. January 24, 2009 10:30 am

    omg…that sounds SUPER intense! It might be too much for me! haha.

  6. January 24, 2009 10:44 am

    Hang in there!! Thank goodness for there being different variations of yoga, right?? 😀

    Sorry about that Nature’s Path bar!!

    Enjoy your Saturday!!

  7. Sarah permalink
    January 24, 2009 10:51 am

    that yoga sounds hard and kinda not fun. hehe, of course ive never even tried yoga before. have a great saturday!

  8. January 24, 2009 11:19 am

    I do a hot yoga class here & MAN- I LOVE IT!! I didn’t want to go & sometimes don’t because I feel like it’s a “waste” of time/energy/workout… but once I’m there, I am soo glad because I am challenged in new ways all the time! Glad you liked it, though dizzy. Boo, to that!
    Glad you thought this bar was “eh.” I bought it a few weeks ago & just haven’t gotten around to eating it… I wasn’t enthralled by the nutritional listing (not many g. of protein for this kind of bar!), but I’ll probably end up eating it anyway.
    Happy weekend! Rest up!

  9. January 24, 2009 3:51 pm

    ah. very very interesting hot yoga experience! now you have me super curious and i want to try it sometime. even just sitting in a sauna makes me get dizzy after 10 minutes…so doing intensive yoga at the same time? hmm, that would be a great combination now wouldn’t it?

    ahhh, hope you have a great weekend nonetheless!!!

  10. Kate permalink
    January 24, 2009 4:26 pm

    where do you find your yoga class? Do you have to pay a lot extra for that or does your gymjust happen to offer it?

  11. Kate permalink
    January 24, 2009 6:15 pm

    cool! Thanks-I will see if I have something within the cities. I’d be so nervous it’d be really hard for me, maybe there’s a trial class too around here!

  12. January 25, 2009 9:49 am

    oh man – i dont think i would like that. I dont like being hot and I am sure I would have been outside catching my breath for the entire time.

    good for you to finish it out though!

  13. January 25, 2009 3:41 pm

    oh good news for the hamstring!!! yah! and i wish I had a hot yoga place around here to try it- I haven’t seen it yet but I am sure it will arrive at some point! It seems like it is fantastic!

    I have had those blueberry bars too- I think the z bars are tastier as are the luna sunrise!

Leave a Reply

