Skip to content

Sunny Friday

January 23, 2009

Ah Friday. So happy its here. This morning when I woke up I tried to do a gentle hatha yoga session to wake up my body a little. My family dog, Hershey who is the sweetest chocolate lab ever came right into my room and did a stretch on my mat. she did DOWN DOG! it was hilarious πŸ™‚ haha.

hersh

hersh11

This morning I had a yummy bowl of Almond Butter and agave oats. Almond milk really makes the bowl soo incredibly creamy! I use the vanilla unsweetened, and its perfect.

oatsfri

I had a peach chobani and a banana as my mid morning snack, and for lunch I had a grilled eggplant wrap. I grilled up the eggplant this morning, and also filled the wrap with some sabra pine nut hummus and some feta cheese. I loveee this combo! I personally really like Japanese eggplant much better than the traditional italian. They’re a lot skinnier, and they tend not to get as mushy. My mom just always used to cook with this type, so i’ve grown up loving it. If you guys haven’t tried cooking with it, I suggest you try it out. Here’s a pic of it. Its skinny, and like a bright purple color.

eggplant-wrap

egplant-wrap

eggplant-pic

So tonight on my agenda… I’m going to go to the gym and bust out a run. I’m hoping my hamstring will be fine. As of right now, my legs feel completely better and i’m looking forward to this run. I’m thinking an interval run is in my future πŸ™‚Β  Then after i’m going to go to my first hot yoga class. It’s a community yoga class, and it’s a $6 drop in fee, so i’m hoping it isn’t too too crowded and I can squeeze in.Β  (i’m going to wear my new yoga gear!! YAY) They also offer a community RockΒ  n’ Roll yoga class which I think is on Wednesday nights. They play tons of rock music during the session, which also sounds like it could be a lot of fun. I might have to try that out sometime soon. I know i’ve heard Jenna from EatLiveRun talk about classes like that and she said she loves them, so i’m looking forward to giving it a shot.Β  I can’t wait until it starts getting warmer out, because I am ready to run OUTSIDE! i miss it, and its so much more relaxing and enjoyable for me than running on a treadmill. I also think my boyfriend is going to run my first 10k with me too! i’m really excited about this!Β  I read the new women’s running magazine this weekend when I was at my bf’s parents house and it made me so excited for this race and all the training runs.Β  His mom and step dad run in marathons, it’s awesome. they ran in the New York and Chicago Marathons last year.

Β 

Hope you are enjoying your Friday! It’s actually going to be a high of 53 here today in Baltimore!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 3:31 pm

    I’ll check back in later to see how you liked hot yoga!! I’m excited to class tonight πŸ™‚ good luck!

  2. January 23, 2009 3:40 pm

    Oh so many things to say…
    Hershey = adorable. Love love love labs. Is that a Costco dog bed? We have 2 – our dogs love them.

    Your oats do look creamy & delicious. I love almond milk too. Have you ever tried Hemp milk? It’s my new favorite. πŸ™‚

    Yay for Hot Yoga! $6 drop-in fee? I’m jealous. Our Hot Yoga studio charges $20! I can’t wait to hear what you think about the class.

    Hope your run goes well and that your hamstring feels okay.
    Have a good weekend!

  3. strongandhealthy permalink
    January 23, 2009 3:42 pm

    That’s the cutest pic of your dog! Great wrap! Enjoy your yoga class!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  4. January 23, 2009 3:47 pm

    Does that bowl have a spoon holder? If so, that’s really cool πŸ™‚

  5. January 23, 2009 4:08 pm

    love the dog pics – such a cute face. the yoga studio sounds awesome…I have only taken it a few times, but maybe I should try it out!

    That is great your BF is going to run the 10k with you…I love that his parents run marathons. I ran NYC in 2005!

  6. January 23, 2009 4:13 pm

    What a cute pup!
    I love chinese eggplant! This wrap sounds amazing πŸ™‚
    Hope your run is good and the yoga class isn’t too crowded. Have a nice Friday πŸ˜€

  7. January 23, 2009 4:23 pm

    I am going to admit that yoga makes me nervous because I have barely ever done it and feel like I was horrible when I went! BUT, tell me how it is after you go tonight and then hopefully I will be brave enough to do it. πŸ˜‰

  8. January 23, 2009 4:43 pm

    What a cute pup! My mom has a golden lab who looks just like that only yellow!

    Hot yoga? Is that like Bikram? I did a drop-in at Bikram once, it was interesting… I hadn’t ate yet that morning so I felt REALLY sick throughout the whole thing and I couldn’t really get into the whole exhaling thing. Anyways, hope you enjoy it! I have a 5-mile run scheduled tomorrow and I have to do it on the treadmill because the temperature suddenly dropped this weekend! (-15 C) I won’t run outside in anything colder than -5 C!! Booo, I hate the treadmill!

    Have a good run and a good weekend πŸ™‚

  9. January 23, 2009 4:53 pm

    Hershey does look like a sweetie : )

    I’ve never had a Japanese eggplant but I think I would like the fact that it’s skinnier … looks good!

    If you’re ever in Missouri, we’ll have to go golfing, haha. I need to find a golfing buddy here!

    Hope you have a great weekend : )

  10. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 23, 2009 5:07 pm

    Hershey is adorable! I really like japanese eggplants, but lately I’ve been having issues cooking them the right way – if there is any one right way. Your wrap looks so good, I had a wrap today too – but no eggplant in mine. have a great night!

  11. Healthy Hunter permalink
    January 23, 2009 5:56 pm

    I love labs…what a cute name too. Hmmm…maybe my future lab will have to Nestle or Godiva or Dove he he. I can’t wait to get one, but my place is too small right now.
    healthyhunter.blogspot.com

  12. Healthy Hunter permalink
    January 23, 2009 5:59 pm

    That is such a cute name for a lab. I can’t wait to get one, but my place is too small right now. Maybe his future name could be Nestle or Dove or Godiva he he.
    healthyhunter.blogspot.com

  13. January 23, 2009 6:11 pm

    LOVE labs! I have a chocolate myself – they’re the best breed of dog I’ve ever had.

    Rock ‘n Roll yoga sounds like a blast!!

  14. January 23, 2009 7:27 pm

    I have a chocolate lab that does yoga, too! Her name is Macy. If I move off of my mat at any time she’s on it! Down dog is also her favorite.

    Good luck with your run. Hope the hammy does okay!

  15. Angela permalink
    January 23, 2009 7:56 pm

    Oh my GOSH that was seriously the best day ever!!! haha you weren’t joking! LOL

    I’m sooooo jealous you got to see Martha’s show and the LULULEMON!!!!! You know my obsession. The Shape jacket is my #1 fav. Lulu product! You won’t be able to take it off!!

    Weeeeeeeeee

    Angela
    http://www.ohsheglows.com

  16. Angela permalink
    January 23, 2009 7:57 pm

    oh and Hershey is so cute! That’s funny he did a downward dog πŸ™‚ I’ve seen dogs do that before and it’s so cute.

  17. January 23, 2009 9:05 pm

    holy cow! what an adorable lab!

    if you made the hot yoga class DO tell about it! ps…community rock n’ roll yoga = would be completely insaneee.

  18. January 23, 2009 10:16 pm

    Ah! your dog is so cute! My husband and I have two little chihuahuas. I think our next dog will be a big one. Have an awesome weekend!

  19. January 25, 2009 3:39 pm

    awwwwwww Hershey is absolutely adorable! Jack ( our dog) LOVES chocolate labs for some reason- I don’t know why- but he always loves to play with chocolate labs if we see them on runs!

    How is your hamstring?

Leave a Reply

