Skip to content

HAPPY AS A CLAM!!!!!!

January 22, 2009

I had SUCH an awesome day! Really, nothing could have gone better 🙂 

 

Lets recap starting last night shall we??

 

My mom and I get into Long Island after a 5 hour drive, and get settled in to my boyfriends parents house. We didn’t get fried chicken.. howeverrr his mom made such a wonderful meal!  She made grilled chicken breasts stuffed with mozzarella, spinach, and roasted red peppers, cous cous, and this amazing salad to go on the side. She also baked us a red velvet cake. It was such a nice dinner and my mom and the bfs parents really got a chance to talk and get to know each other better. It was a great time.  We went to bed almost right after we ate because we had to get up this morning at about 5. I had a quick breakfast this morning of multigrain cheerios and strawberries with flax and skim. I haven’t had real milk in a long time. I have to say that I love my soy and almond milk so much better, and I used to be a milk fiend! 

photo-102

We took the hike up to NYC on the Long Island Rail Road and waited outside the studio in line for the show. It was FREEEZZZZINGG! i felt as though my toes had frostbite, and that pins and needles were sticking in every part of my legs! Once we got in we were put into a waiting room and I snacked on my almond and coconut Kind bar! this bar never gets old. I think it might be my all time favorite. Once we got onto her set, it was beautiful 🙂 so pretty, so Martha. 

photo-94

Sigourney Weaver was her celebrity guest and she cooked some moroccan chicken with apricot cous cous. The recipe sounded so great, and really simple. Then she made these cherry oatmeal scones with Quaker oats, so we got some free Quaker loot! We got a variety pack of instant oatmeal, a variety pack of chewy granola bars, a box of life cereal, some old fashioned outs, and some coupons for Quakers goods!  They were getting everyone excited for the giveaway during the commercial breaks, and were screaming, WHO LOVES OATMEAL! and all i could think of was all of YOU 🙂  Martha was also at the Inauguration, and brought back Obama hats for us!!!! on the back of the hat it says Change. i love it. Then we also got a copy of her newest issue of Body + Soul Magazine. It was such an exciting show to be a part of. Martha herself wasn’t really friendly, but the staff was awesome and they played the BEST music during the commercial breaks. Everyone was dancing in their seats. 

photo-113

NOW….. saving the best till last……….

 

 

Martha went on a Zen Bootcamp retreat in Arizona, and brought the director of the retreat onto the show. She was talking about proper nutrition, and keeping active, and all the different components that you needed in your workout. Then Martha started talking about her jacket that she absolutely loved. She wears it all the time , whether its to workout or not. It was the Lululemon Shape Jacket, and SHE GAVE EACH OF US A GIFT CARD TO BUY ONE OF OUR OWN!!!! I couldn’t believe it! I have been eyeing this workout jacket forever, but its so expensive! its about $100, and I told myself I couldn’t buy it. So I get to go to a store and pick the color i like in my size!!! I was literally screaming at the top of my lungs when she said that we were all going to get our own! 

tv_musthaves_shapeupjacket_l

To continue on with my amazing day, after the show my mom, my bfs mom and I went to lunch at Mesa Grill which is Bobby Flays Restaurant. 

O

M

G

 

it was absolutely to die for. I am going to give you the run down of my meal, bc it couldn’t have tasted any better. really. I started off with one of the mini rolls and half of a jalapeno cornbread muffin. The cornbread was melt in your mouth good. I have got to find a recipe to duplicate this. For my appetizer I got the Roasted Pumpkin Soup which had smoked chilies, pomegranate creame with the seeds, and spicy pumpkin seeds. This bowl of soup was incomparable. The flavors went so well together, but this baby was Spicy! So i took another roll to keep my tongue cool 🙂 For my entree I got an appetizer of the Shrimp and roasted garlic corn tamale. AHHHHH tamale Heaven!!! The only other time i have tried a tamale, was the one time at the whole foods hot bar. This blew it out of the water, and out of the earth. The one at whole foods was really dry, so I couldn’t really get a feeling of what a good tamale was like. This is what Mesa Grill is really well known for, so I knew i HAD to get it. If any of you ever go there, please please get this! it was great. My mom ordered the warm coconut crepes as a dessert to share for the table. I wasn’t able to snag a pic of it, but let me tell you…. drooling now thinking about it. It was out of this world. I feel like I don’t even have enough amazing descriptions of the food that we ate today. I loved the restaurant, and am so glad we picked it. highly recommended!

photo-34

photo-16

photo5

To finish out the best day EVER, I come home from NYC and find that I won the OhSheGlows contest, I couldn’t believe my eyes. I have been dying to try out the Honest Foods products for as long as i’ve seen them around the blog. People just rave about them so much,and I have been desperately trying to find them. THANK YOU ANGELA!!! this was an amazing contest you held 🙂 I can’t wait to try these!!  sorry this post was such a spaz out, i was just so excited and couldn’t wait to tell all of you about my day!

I hope you all had a wonderful Thursday too! Friday is tomorrow 🙂 then the weekend is here!   love you all xoxo

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:38 am

    what a fun day and sweet swag you got!
    i met bobby flay one time at a basketball game and have been in love with him ever since…
    yeah for good eats, good fun, and free treats!

  2. Sarah permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:39 am

    what a fun day and sweet swag you got!
    i met bobby flay one time at a basketball game and have been in love with him ever since…
    yeah for good eats, good fun, and free treats!

  3. January 23, 2009 12:42 am

    OMGGG sounds like the best day EVER!!! haha, Obama, lululemon, oats, Bobby Flay restaurant, winning a contest- seriously!??! Amazing…and that’s funny about Martha not being friendly- i totally think she seems unfriendly even on tv!

  4. January 23, 2009 1:13 am

    Dang, that DOES sound like an awesome day! Thanks for sharing your recap and pics with us!

  5. Leah permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:39 am

    What a great day you had! All those great things you received (wow!)…. and congrats on winning the contest!!

  6. January 23, 2009 3:05 am

    Sure beats the day I had. You are certainly fortunate! It;s nice to see people taking advantage of the opportunities that present themselves.

  7. FollowMyWeigh permalink
    January 23, 2009 3:09 am

    wow that sounds like such an awesome day!!!!
    i’d love to go to bobby flay’s restauarant one day!!

  8. January 23, 2009 6:18 am

    What an amazing day! That is SO COOL about the Lululemon goods. I want something from there but they are expensive and hard to track down (I don’t think they sell online?). The Martha Experience looks like so much fun. Why am I not surprised that she wasn’t super friendly? Hehe. At least you got goodies!!
    Congrats on the Oh She Glows win!

  9. January 23, 2009 6:42 am

    That’s awesome!! Looks like you had a GREAT time!! : ) Thanks for sharing!

  10. strongandhealthy permalink
    January 23, 2009 7:49 am

    What a fun day! I love Martha!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  11. January 23, 2009 7:50 am

    BEYOND AMAZING!! 😀

  12. January 23, 2009 8:23 am

    Holy cow! What a fun and exciting day!! Obama + Oats = meant to be 😀

  13. January 23, 2009 8:58 am

    omg lucky you!!!!! I LOVE lululemon!!!!!

  14. January 23, 2009 9:30 am

    Sounds like a freakin’ amazing day! Awesome goodies from Martha and I am INSANELY jealous that you got to eat at Mesa Grill! Bobby Flay is my FAVORITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. January 23, 2009 9:42 am

    So jealous of your good from the Martha Show!

    Looks like you’re having a great time 🙂

  16. January 23, 2009 9:49 am

    You SPAZ all you want, honey!! 🙂 What an awesome day, so happy for you and can’t wait to see your new jacket!!! CUTE!!!!! XOXO

  17. January 23, 2009 10:26 am

    Omg, that lulu lemon jacket is SO cute, that is so cool she gave everyone gift cards to buy them! Your day does sounds amazing! I’m glad you had such a good time!!

  18. January 23, 2009 10:26 am

    wow! awesome day, indeed 🙂 the stars were aligned in your favor, for sure! I’m glad you had such a good time!

  19. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:30 am

    omgoodnes! Martha Stewart…Bobby Flay…winning an honest foods contest! thats amazing!

    your boyfriend’s mom sounds so sweet and such a great cook! Red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting is one of my absolute favorite desserts =) a southern thing, haha.

    thank you so much for your warm thoughts and prayers, your support has been so sweet and comfoting =) thank you! you really deserve every little bit of happiness you talked about it your post

  20. January 23, 2009 10:31 am

    Wow you did have an awesome day! I love all of the swag that you got. Plus the food looks amazing too!

  21. January 23, 2009 11:03 am

    I saw that episode yesterday! So cool.

  22. January 23, 2009 11:07 am

    That’s so cool you got to go to a taping of Martha Stewart! Looks like you got a lot of goodies and congrats on winning the Honest Foods giveaway!

    Thank you so much for all of your help with my fundraising and for your donation! You’re the best!!

  23. January 23, 2009 12:49 pm

    you really did just have the best day ever! holy free stuff! 🙂

    i loved it all, thanks for sharing! i’m shipping your stuff tomorrow as well – can’t wait! 😀

  24. January 23, 2009 1:39 pm

    You lucky girl! I’m insanely jealous that you got to see a taping of the show not to mention all the awesome loot you scored. That jacket is so cute. I love Body+Soul magazine. Congrats on winning the Oh She Glows contest, too.

  25. January 23, 2009 2:29 pm

    not sure which is more exciting, all that swag or bobby flay’s grill!!!

  26. January 23, 2009 4:11 pm

    whoa! What a GREAT day – unreal all the stuff you got. I want to go to a show like that – how did you score tickets again?? the meal afterwards sounds/looks incredible.

  27. eatinnyc permalink
    January 23, 2009 4:37 pm

    Hershey is SO cute! The pictures I am going to post tonight are of Jersey “helping” me with my crunches last night and laying ALL Over my yoga mat! She also does downward dog on my yoga mat, it’s hilarious! Ok, maybe you’ve convinced me…I should try bikram…. 🙂 Let me know how yours goes, I have to SPIN tonight!!
    Sara
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  28. eatinnyc permalink
    January 23, 2009 4:38 pm

    ps) My ‘other mother’ family friend works for Martha Stewart. I went to the show once and it was such a good time. She knows I am a lululemon ADDICT (way too much in my closet) so she is going DOWN for not inviting me to skip work for THAT show!!! 🙂 Enjoy the jacket!! I love mine!

  29. January 23, 2009 6:10 pm

    Hershey is just beautiful! Happy Friday!

  30. January 23, 2009 8:51 pm

    First off, hershey is sooooo cute! I grew up with a chocolate lab and they are just such awesome dogs!

    I didn’t know until recently that there were different types of eggplants. Thanks for your thoughts on the two types.

    Hope you enjoyed the hot yoga! I LOVED it

  31. January 25, 2009 3:37 pm

    oh my goodness!, I am envious of you!

    That is so incredible that you got that gift card for your jacket!! And all that quaker goodies AND mesa! Wow, what a fabulous time!

Leave a Reply

