Skip to content

bar crazy

January 20, 2009

wellll yet again things didn’t go as planned. I planned on doing my 25 minute treadmill run today during lunch but about 5 minutes into my run my hamstring was really pulling tight. My legs are incredibly sore from the 2 games on Sunday. I was going to keep going but then I remember reading Angelas blog at Ohsheglows and she had just gotten an injury because she tried to push through her pain. I decided it wasn’t worth the risk of injury this early in my training so i hopped on the eliptical instead for some easy leg action. I did 20 minutes on the eliptical. i have GOT to stretch out my legs after hockey so much better. I have a tournament this Sunday which is 6 games long give or take a few depending on how well we do. If I don’t stretch right i’m probably going to have to be dragged out of my bed the next day, because these legs won’t be wanting to move. 

Lunch today was an amys cheddar cheese burrito with rice and beans. my girl amy. she sure does know how to make some mexican food! i love it! i rounded out lunch with a crisp ripe apple.  I was getting hungry for my afternoon snack so i munched on a chocolate brownie zbar. It was officially the end of my bar stash… soooo I went and restocked after work! AH so many good ones and some new ones too! I got some cliff bars (oatmeal raisin walnut, blueberry crisp, WHITE CHOCOLATE MACADAMIA NUT, and banana nut bread) , 2 almond and apricot and 3 almond and coconut Kind bars, and an optimum blueberry flax and soy nature’s path bar. I haven’t tried the white chocolate macadamia nut which i’ve been looking everywhere for, and so happy i found, the banana nut bread (is this new? i’ve never seen it anywhere before) and the blueberry flax bar. the Kind bars are so ridiculously good though, I really recommend you try these flavors out. You’ll drool just thinking about them 🙂 I also snatched up some chobani’s that were on sale for a dollar a piece! not too shabby. 2 blueberry, and 2 peach!

photo-142

photo-122

photo-82

I came home after my little food spree to some chinese noodles. It is noodles with beef and broth and lettuce. Ah, I love my mom’s cooking. I am going to be shell shocked when I move out. I planned on moving to New York after graduation, but it was so hard finding a job in my field there so I took a really good opportunity in Baltimore. I moved back home, and have been saving up money and hopefully will be moving to NY in the summer sometime. It’s going to be a sad day when I don’t have all this amazing food, but will be a really good time for me to whip out my cooking skills and try out some awesome recipes. A few weeks ago I bought some Pudge Free brownie mix… i hadn’t busted it open yet, so i figured tonight was the night. To make a single serving brownie you put 2 tbsp of the mix, and 1 tbsp of ff yogurt mix it up, and stick it in the microwave for a minute. The mix is all natural and fat free. I was a little hesitant at first, because it just didn’t seem like a fat free brownie could in any way taste good… but I WAS WRONG! it was awesome, it was the perfect little personal brownie. I put a tsp of mighty maple on it… and it was heaven. It warm and started to melt the pb. ahhhhhh. This could be dangerous, bc I can see it in my future many many nights! PLUS its only 110 cals (without the yummy pb). it’s ridiculous how good it tasted, really. I think it tastes a lot more moist than a vitamuffin. I took a pic of it after i snagged a bite so you could see how cakey the brownie was 🙂

photo-132

photo-112photo-93

photo-101

 

I am in neeeeeed of a good stretch tonight, so i’m going to download one of the gentle hatha yoga sessions from yogadownload. I have been talking to Polly a lot recently from YogaisYummy and she has really inspired me so much to further my yoga practice.  I am going to be adding it into my routine more frequently now. She is such an amazing person, you all should read her blog, it will make your day a little more bright 🙂

Have a great night, ill be watching the biggest loser! And then only a half day at work tomorrow 🙂 🙂 🙂

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 8:08 pm

    oh why hellooo person with very good taste in bars! i think you just knocked out all my favorites in that one purchase!

    man, everyone on blog-word is RAVING about those white choc. macadamias. i guess Clif hit a jackpot with that flavor!

    as far as your hamstring- good good good idea with letting it rest a little. better a few days of stretching and recovery than getting sidelined for a few weeks in the future, right?

  2. January 20, 2009 8:39 pm

    That single serving brownie sounds delish! esp topped with PB!!!

    mmm noodle soup is the best! I had vegetarian pho for lunch/dinner today 🙂 yum yum!!!

    I lived with my parents for 2 years post-graduation to save money! It was one of the smartest moves I ever made!

  3. Kate permalink
    January 20, 2009 8:50 pm

    Wierd!!! Looks like we both had a KIND day. They are my absolute fav snack bar and lot of people don’t know a/b them! OMG no fudge pudge brownies are ahhmazing, and I don’t even like reg brownies! Thanks so much for making me feel like I’m not totally stupid for losing my wallet:P

  4. January 20, 2009 9:00 pm

    That single-serving brownie looks SOO good, I’ve gotta try and find that stuff! My knees were really starting to bother me towards the end of my 3-miler today. It freaked me out because I’m only in week three of my training :S I hope it’s just because I need new shoes though which I will hopefully have in the next week or so!!

  5. January 20, 2009 9:07 pm

    Hey girl! I’m glad you got in a good workout in, despite the pain! Look at all your goodies! Chobani…oh yum yum! Bars look good too, nice shopping. Enjoy your half day (I’m so jealous!)

  6. January 20, 2009 9:12 pm

    Great eats!
    I love the plate you have your burrito on, my parents have the same set, reminds me of big family dinners at home. (Not that I don’t go to their house constantly, but more often then not we’re using some corelle because those plates are so heavy lol)

  7. January 20, 2009 9:14 pm

    oooh I want your mom’s cooking too! And I LOVE Amy’s – I used to eat her breakfast burrito like it was going out of style! (so m uch so that I burnt myself out!

    Good for you for stopping – I read that on her blog too and it scared me as well!!

  8. January 20, 2009 9:21 pm

    I have been wanting to try those brownies, maybe I will soon, they look delicious!

  9. January 20, 2009 9:38 pm

    Definitely, definitely stretch and rest!! I’m glad you stopped and didn’t push it!

    WCMN CLIF!!! Hope you love it!

  10. January 20, 2009 9:46 pm

    Good job listening to your body today! As soon as I read your hammy started to hurt -I was going to comment and say “LISTEN TO YOUR BODY – TAKING A DAY OFF NOW IS WAY BETTER THAN BEING INJURED FOR A MONTH!” – but I don’t need to say things like that you! 🙂 You are on top of it!

    Hope it feels better tomorrow!

    Love the bar stash!

  11. January 20, 2009 9:47 pm

    Uhm, yeah, your description of that brownie made it sound WAY TOO GOOD! lol. If I had one, I would immediately go make it and devour it!

  12. January 20, 2009 10:08 pm

    Hooray for mom’s home cooking, brownies, and…. YOGA!!!!!! 😀

  13. January 21, 2009 12:16 am

    Definitely good you didn’t run today!

    I love the addition PB to the No Pudge!

  14. January 21, 2009 4:42 am

    I made my individual serving of No-Pudge in that bowl, too! You have good taste 🙂 LOVE those Amy’s burritos.

  15. January 21, 2009 8:16 am

    I really need to get my hands on some of the Mighty Maple PB! I love mixing honey and PB together, so it seems like I’d be a fan of the maple combo as well.

  16. January 21, 2009 8:23 am

    Ash,
    you are SO SWEET!!! Yay for yummy bars and yoga!! XOXO

  17. February 6, 2009 6:28 pm

    OMG!!! growing up I totally had those pfalzgraph plates too same design, wow

Leave a Reply

