Skip to content

OT

January 16, 2009

No groove class or 25 minute run last night 😦 I got home at 9:30 pm. ah work days like that make me want to stay under the sheets all day the next morning. At least I got some overtime in though, that will be good next payday. I did however make sure that I got my much anticipated whole foods salad bar for dinner πŸ™‚Β  The things i remember throwing into my container is a tamale, curried tofu, honey chipotle roasted sweet potatoes (sooo gooooooooooooodddd), some bean salad, and some kinds of pasta too, oh and some quinoa which i had never tried before. I have never tried a tamale before, and woooeeeee this was spicy! the thign was filled with jalapenos. It was good, but had me breakin a sweat at my desk.Β  It was a good little mixture of things, but wow that salad bar is always so expensive.Β  I think my dinner was close to $9.Β  The fage did a pretty good job at filling me up the rest of the day until dinner, but I did start to get hungry around 4:30, so I had half of a Kind Bar, it was an almond, walnut macadamia nut one. The whole thing is pretty much just nuts and honey. They threw in some brazil nuts though, which i’ve never tried before and it was delicious! My favorite Kind bar has got to be almond coconut, its absolutely amazing and if you like coconut, i HIGHLY suggest you find one as soon as possible.

salad-bar

kind

Breakfast this morning was back to the oats, i needed something to fill me up better than those waffles. I threw in some ground flax too so hopefully that will do the trick. these oats are really growing on me, I had started eating cereal almost every morning but lately i’ve been waking up craving a good hot bowl of oatmeal. Before I started reading these wonderful blogs, i swear I had only eaten about 2 or 3 bowls of oatmeal my entire life. what good influences you all are πŸ™‚ OH and big news! I have never tried Barney Butter even though I drool over it everytime I see it on a blog page, and I went to their website yesterday and saw that they are now selling it in Baltimore!Β  I can not waitttt until I get my hands on some of it. I’ve really been loving my maranathaΒ  raw almond butter too, so i’m going to wait to buy the BB until i run out of that good stuff.

p.s. honeynutlo, that agave swirl is for you!

oatsfla1

So since I missed my scheduled 25 minute run last night, i’m going to readjust the schedule and do the 25 minute run today during lunch, then make my cross training day Saturday. Yesterday will have to be my scheduled rest day. Week 1 of the training program is almost complete!Β  I’m hoping that this weekend when the boy comes I will do well with eating healthy! It’s so hard around boys. They eat whatever they want, so it makes you feel like its fine if you do it too, so i’m going to focus this weekend on really staying on track. I’m glad i started this blog so I can keep myself accountable.

Since its SO COLD everywhere I decided to throw a picture in this to make you all feel a little bit warmer. Heres a picture from my spring break trip to Jamaica my senior year. It was the most amazing trip, and heres a gorgeous picture of the sunset one night. ah I can’t wait for some warm weather πŸ™‚

sunset

happy friday! its almost the weekend!!!!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 9:01 am

    I love the Whole Foods salad bar! Its worth the splurge because $9 will FILL YOU UP! πŸ™‚

  2. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:03 am

    haha, that makes two of us that have copped out of working out yesterday, sometimes its just not meant to be. I love Kind Bars, my favorite is almonds and apricots – the bottom is covered with yogurt…sooo sooo good! you are lucky that your whole foods dinner was about $9, everytime I go it ends up being almost $12!

    Its really really hard to eat healthy about boys because its so easy to give in around them and eat unhealthy crap. Its been really challenging for me to eat healthy on the weekends because my boyfriend has the kind of metabolism that if he doesnt eat 4,000 calories or more a day – he looses weight! He lost almost 8 pounds on our vacation in December, and I gained like 5..haha. g’luck this weekend!

  3. January 16, 2009 9:10 am

    That picture is beautiful. I swear it warmed me up a bit – just looking at it!

  4. FollowMyWeigh permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:45 am

    ah, very nice to see that warm picture =)
    and your container full of everything looks awesome!! MMMM~

  5. January 16, 2009 10:26 am

    Your picture helped me feel warmer : ) I’m getting tired of the cold … what’s the temp where you live?

    Goji berries are weird. I’m not sure how to describe them, really. I’ve heard their taste described as a mix between a cherry and a cranberry and I suppose that would be fitting. Here’s my conclusion so far … I do not like frozen goji berries and I think it’s safe to say I do finally like dried goji berries (though the first time I tried them, I was pretty skeptical). I think they’re definitely worth a try though.

  6. January 16, 2009 10:39 am

    Ahhhhh…I so wish I could be where that picture is instead of in this negative degree weather!! STAY WARM!

    Your oats look SO yummy!

  7. January 16, 2009 11:16 am

    Your dinner looked delicious! I love tamales!

  8. January 16, 2009 11:18 am

    Your WFs salad sounds perfect – sweat induced spiciness is the best πŸ™‚

    LOVE the swirl!

  9. January 16, 2009 11:22 am

    beautiful picture at the end! i think we need constant reminders of what good weather actually looks like! haha πŸ™‚

  10. January 16, 2009 11:58 am

    Beautiful Sunset!! Love Whole Foods! We don’t have one in Gainesville, but if I am in Orlando or somewhere there is one- I make everyone stop there! I love to looking at everything! And their salad bar is WONDERFUL!

    Happy Weekend ❀

  11. January 16, 2009 1:25 pm

    Yum I love the whole foods salad bar, I was so lost as to what I wanted for dinner last night, luckily almost everything I was craving was at the salad bar. Definitely worth the 9 bucks, it’s so filling! It kept me full for hours last night.

  12. January 16, 2009 1:29 pm

    I’ve never tried a tamale either – but now you have me inspired!

    Thanks for the warm photo – I was definitely in need of that! πŸ™‚

  13. January 16, 2009 2:04 pm

    barney butter in baltimore?! try saying that three times fast! πŸ™‚ i am heading to their website now to find out where…

    great sunset pic.

  14. January 16, 2009 2:22 pm

    Boys make it SO difficult to eat good! I’m sure you’ll be fine though.

    I eat 1 cup of oatmeal with 1 tsp each of honey and peanut butter a splash of skim milk and half a banana every single morning. So good and keeps me full right till lunch usually! Have a fun weekend πŸ™‚

  15. January 16, 2009 2:46 pm

    Grat finds at whole foods, its sounds and looks delish!

  16. January 16, 2009 3:22 pm

    I have never eaten at the whole foods bar! The closest one is an hour away from me and I’m never there during lunch/dinner time, boo! I want to try it!

    http://www.modbehav.com

  17. January 16, 2009 4:27 pm

    I’m soo jealous! First of all, you have access to a Whole Foods salad bar. Everything you chose looks really good. The closest store to me is almost 2 hours away. Second, that picture from your trip makes me want to go, too!

  18. January 16, 2009 4:43 pm

    honey chipotle sweet potatoes!!!! oh my they look ridiculously good i love, love sweet potato (i get overly excited bout them if you can’t tell!lol!) your brekkie looks sensational too i love nut butters!
    how did you like the quinoa??
    have a great run girlie!
    ox

  19. January 16, 2009 4:45 pm

    Loving that swirl- so pretty! And those KIND bars are soo good, I love the almond/coconut too, and almond/apricot…that picture is gorgeous- i’ve heard jamaica is AH-mazing!! Have a fun run πŸ˜€

  20. January 16, 2009 7:05 pm

    whole foods hot bar = happiness. the end.

Leave a Reply

