Skip to content

Sauna Etiquette?

January 13, 2009

Yoga during lunch was good. I really am glad though that I bought the 11 week session at the yoga studio by my house. It just seems like they are so much more experienced there. I will still continue to take the yoga offered at my gym on Tuesdays, but to really get into the practice I will do that at the studio. Before I went to yoga I snacked on an apple, and some grapes.

Lunch today was some turkey chili and cornbread ๐Ÿ™‚ Such winter comfort food. Before I went to the gym after work, I had some puffins and a banana.ย 

photo-32

I did a 25 minute run tonight after I got out of work. All of the cardio machines at my gym have individual tvs on them, so I watched music videos, it made the time fly by so fast. Usually I like doing interval runs, because it makes the workout seem fast, I get really bored of running at the same pace on the treadmill. Today wasn’t so bad. I think that could be a good sign. I got a good stretch in after my run, then decided to loosen up the muscles and relax in the sauna. ย This is my first time using my gyms sauna. I just usually don’t have time to go after my workout, but seeing as today I had nothing planned after, I walked right in. It was ridiculously hot. I don’t remember sauna’s being as hot as the one today was. It hurt to breathe through my nose. I felt like my nose was on fire. I was in there for probably 5 minutes, I couldn’t relax. HOWEVER, during those 5 minutes some interesting stuff happened. ย There was another woman in the sauna with me. I wore my towel into the sauna, but I know that a lot of people go nude. She was wearing underwear and thats it. No top. Just laying on the bench. No biggie. but then she started singing, and had her legs up in a table top position against the wall, and started doing butt raises, or bridges. Then she started doing hard core crunches, then got up and did some stretches. All in this tiny room, so she was like 2 arms lengths away from me. Is this odd to anyone else? I never really go into the sauna ever, so I don’t know what the sauna etiquette is, but I was wondering if anything funny like this has ever happened to any of you?ย 

funny story ๐Ÿ™‚

Dinner tonight was simple. I had a morningstar spicy black bean burger. I love these! I put a piece of 50% reduced fat cheddar cheese, franks red hot, salsa, and spinach on top with an arnolds sandwich thin. I had a small spinach salad on the side with some goddess dressing. Dessert tonight was some blackberries and half of a whole wheat cinnamon raisin english muffin from trader joes with a little butta. I spotted these the other day and snagged them, and was so glad i did. theyre so good! i recommend them highly ๐Ÿ™‚

photo-14photo-25

well i’m going to relax a little before biggest loser comes on!!! then if i can handle staying up later tonight, i will throw a little nip/tuck into the action. Hope you all have a great night

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 8:35 pm

    Mmm cornbread definitely = comfort food :o)

  2. January 13, 2009 9:37 pm

    i think that lady was over stepping her ground a bit in the sauna! pretty funny story though.

    so you like those morningstar farms black bean burgers too? i got some in my freezer. i know whats for lunch tomorrow!

  3. January 13, 2009 10:03 pm

    Your comfort food lunch looks so good! It almost makes me wish for more cold weather (almost :-).

  4. January 13, 2009 10:31 pm

    Yeah that sounds weird. Although I have never been with anyone in the sauna in my building, I can’t imagine encountering something like that. It makes for a funny post though.

    I love watching VH1 jumpstart in the mornings at the gym!

  5. January 13, 2009 10:56 pm

    Again with those delicious looking blackberries! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Those arnold sandwich things always look so good and I just CAN’T find them around here – BOO!

  6. FollowMyWeigh permalink
    January 13, 2009 11:50 pm

    HAHAH!! i think that lady was kind of overdoing it. i LOVE the sauna…ah how i wish i had a gym to go to one right now!!

  7. January 13, 2009 11:50 pm

    Weird. I’ve never been in the gym sauna, but that definitely seems a little odd to me..

  8. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:28 am

    omg….what a crazy woman! its weird how that happened to you today, becuase I never usually go use the sauna at my gym…but today I decided to and there was a girl in there, she wasn’t doing anything weird, but she had her thong drying next to the heating element…once i saw that i figured i had enough! good job on ur easy run =)

  9. January 14, 2009 5:14 am

    Hehe–I am always scared of the sauna because of funny stories like that! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Haven’t had cornbread in ages–YUM!

  10. January 14, 2009 9:30 am

    Cornbread!! Yum ๐Ÿ˜€

    Haha – that is an interesting sauna experience!

  11. January 14, 2009 9:39 am

    WEIRD!!! haha I’m not a sauna girl but that doesn’t seem normal… and if it IS, i’m NEVER going to be a sauna girl!

    That chili looks fab! I’m making some this weekend and am SO excited (especially since i’m at my desk all buttoned up in my coat with my scarf still on FREEZING! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. January 14, 2009 10:40 am

    I’m not sure if you can even register for the Cherry Blossom race. It apparently fills up really fast, and online registration was CLOSED within 4 hours of it being Open! I had to mail my applicaton in, which I did within days of online registration closing.

    Go to the website and see what they say, if there are any openings – you might just need to send in application and check and see what they say. if its returned to you then you know you didn’t get in!

    Definately look for a race to register for! I decided to start big with 10 miles! or I may just be an idiot…

    where near DC do you live? I live in Northern VA

  13. kitchenveganvirgin permalink
    January 14, 2009 10:51 am

    goodluck on your 10k!

    My parents live in Olney, MD – I used to go to Columbia Mall alll the time!

    I might sign up for a few more races – not sure yet of my schedule……my friends want me to do a sprint triathlon on may 10th in spotslyvania, pa – i’m like ahhh i just wanna get thru my 10 mile training!! give me a break!

  14. January 14, 2009 11:54 am

    I love saunas, my grandparents have one at their cottage so whenever we visit there in the summer we use the sauna all the time. As for gym saunas however, I’ve never been in one. Although if I were put in a situation like yours I had to admit I’d be a little (okay a LOT) weirded out. I kind of doubt that’s standard sauna behaviour haha. I mean, maybe if had your own sauna to do exercises in at home or something… MAYBE… but in a public gym sauna? I would have had to restrain my laughter.

  15. January 14, 2009 11:59 am

    HAHA, that story made me seriously LAUGH! I always feel like weird crap like that happens to me, and I want someone to laugh with, or I wish my friends were there to see!

  16. January 14, 2009 12:05 pm

    Wow, that lady in the sauna was definitely odd. But funny.

  17. January 14, 2009 12:19 pm

    That Sauna story made me laugh so hard at work, thanks for breaking up my day with some humor.
    I’ve never been in a sauna before believe it or not so I have nothing funny to share. LOl.

  18. January 14, 2009 12:35 pm

    The sauna story made me laugh… I have had experience was naked women coming in the sauna or steam room but never have a seen a woman in her undies working out in there.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think she might be a tad bit crazy.

Leave a Reply

