Skip to content

Simple Oats

January 13, 2009

Dinner last night was one of my favorites. Salmon Teriyaki. I had it with whole wheat cous cous, and some broccoli. Perfect way to start off the night. After dinner, I took a shower then curled into bed with Eat, Pray, Love.  I was wiped out after Group Power today, and I have it again on Wed. My body won’t remember what it’s like to not be sore.  Today is day 2 of week 1 of the 10k program. I’m supposed to run for 20-25 minutes. I want to take the lunchtime yoga class, so I will go back to the gym after work to get the run in. I feel like now that I wrote my tentative race schedule on the blog, it’s like I HAVE to do it now! I am liking how this blog is giving me the opportunity to really think about my goals, and to fulfill them, not to just have empty dreams. I have a feeling 2009 is going to be a great year for all of us!

 here’s a quote that I found that I think you all will enjoy.

Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.  ~Author Unknown

salmon

Breakfast this morning was a tribute to Jenna’s new morning routine. I had a bowl of oats with a spoonfull of almond butter. I really enjoyed the almond butter in my oats! such a different taste than pb. I added a little agave to it too. I made the oats with unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and i loved the creaminess it gave to the oats, with a hint of delicious vanilla. I am so used to adding so many toppings to my oatmeal, and this simple list was really good! It is good sometimes to bring things back to basics. I will be eating my oats like this more often 🙂

oatmeal

Hope you all are having a great Tuesday so far!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 9:37 am

    Love that quote! Where’d you see it? I feel like I was out in a store recently and saw that quote on something, like a mirror frame, not sure. But I instantly fell in love with the quote!!

    Your salmon looks delicious, I love salmon!! Have a great day!

  2. January 13, 2009 9:52 am

    Mmmm..that salmon looks amazing 🙂

  3. January 13, 2009 10:05 am

    I don’t eat fish, but salmon teryaki sounds AWESOME! Good for you with the basic oats! A nice change, right?

  4. January 13, 2009 10:14 am

    What a great quote!! I know what you mean, I totally feel accountable now that I’ve told everyone in the blogging world that I am training for races! Oh well, I guess that’s a good thing 🙂

  5. January 13, 2009 10:18 am

    the salmon looks great!

  6. January 13, 2009 10:20 am

    i love salon! i am actually making some tonight!

    have a good run today!

  7. January 13, 2009 11:07 am

    I love Group Power, but they stopped offering it at my gym. So sad! 😦
    That quote is great! Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

  8. January 13, 2009 11:08 am

    Your dinner looks amazing. You seriously cannot go wrong with the combination!

  9. January 13, 2009 12:10 pm

    I wish I liked salmon! It always looks so good!

  10. January 13, 2009 12:46 pm

    Love your dinner! Lovely quote!

  11. January 13, 2009 12:48 pm

    Holy cow that dinner looks amazing – the salmon looks like it would melt in your mouth!

  12. January 13, 2009 1:35 pm

    that salmon looks so fabulous!! come make me some!! ha!

    and thanks for the sweet comment on my tofu! so glad you like it!!
    if you give me a link to an entry or post where you’ve made it, I’d be happy to add you to the list of bloggers on the Gliding Calm tofu page!

    HAPPY TUESDAY!

  13. January 13, 2009 2:05 pm

    speaking of compliments, here is one for you! your are absolutely adorable and a rockstar for doing a 10k program..i am on week 3 of a half marathon training and i like it, but i would love it more if I could run outside and not on the treadmill 😦 hate that thing. But it is 8 degrees out so i have a few months before I can hit the pavement…in your oats try, almond butter with raspberry jam. Delicious 🙂

  14. January 13, 2009 2:14 pm

    YUMMY oats. Simple is so good, isn’t it? I in fact have that same almond breeze in my fridge and guess what my snack is gonna be now??? 🙂

    Love your blog and way to go on running and being such a ray of sunshine!! XOXO

  15. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 13, 2009 3:18 pm

    ur so cute! and yet its soooo true how blogging keeps you accountable of your goals…now you have to and WILL complete thoe races!

  16. January 13, 2009 4:24 pm

    LOVELY meals!!

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  17. January 13, 2009 7:43 pm

    Thanks for your comment soo much!! Love your blog, we are kind of in the same boat 😀 Ha minus my unemployment! I was on my dance team in college so I miss the daily practices, etc…but I just joined a diff one that is sort of independent so i’m excited for that! Delish dinner, have a great night!

  18. January 13, 2009 7:48 pm

    you are a doll. i adore that quote. i may make that part of my day’s mantra : ) thanks for your comment : )

Leave a Reply

