Skip to content

Power through

January 12, 2009

I did the group power class again during lunch. The lunges and squats were by far the hardest parts of the class. we were squatting for 6 minutes straight! Class is on Wed again, so this will throw some weight training into my routine. Okay, so I have been thinking long and hard and this is my tentative race schedule this year. Last year I ran 2 5ks, so this is a BIG step up for me. The blog world makes you think that you really can accomplish anything, so these are part of my 2009 goals!

31st Annual Clyde’s 10k-Columbia, MD   April 19
ZOOMA Annapolis 10k- Annapolis, MD   May 31
Survivor Harbor 7 mile run- Baltimore, MD     June 14
34th Annapolis 10 mile run- Annapolis, MD  Aug 23
2009 Baltimore Running Festival, half-marathon, or depending on if I can get friends to do it with me, 4 person relay marathon- Baltimore, MD   Oct 10

That is a lot planned, but it is gradual, and the races are far apart. I really think i can do this.

I looked through some 10k training programs, and I really like Jeff Galloways.  Today I’m starting week 1.

Today was walk/cross train, on his website it says that the cross training means

  • Every other day you can cross-train instead of walking. Cross country ski machines, water running, cycling, and any other other mode which you find fun and interesting (but non-pounding) will improve overall fitness.
  • I am counting my Group Power class towards my crosstraining. Day 1= complete 🙂
    Breakfast this morning was another bowl of cereal, with strawberries. I had an apple with pb, and some puffins for my mid day snack. Lunch was a veggie wrap that included hummus, 1/2 laughing cow wedge, carrots, mushrooms, artichoke, and spinach. I paired it along with some yogurt and blackberries and my trusty sigg.

     strawb-cereal1

    lunchwrap

    So I came up with a logo for my indoor field hockey team, pineapple express. What do you guys think? Have any suggestions??

     shirt3

    13 Comments leave one →
    1. January 12, 2009 3:40 pm

      you can totally do those races!

      don’t be afraid to ask me if you have any questions!

    2. January 12, 2009 4:03 pm

      great race choices! I was just reading about the zooma race in annapolis…looks like a good one. And yes – the Blue Moon Cafe is supposed to be incredible. unfortunately I have never been, but it is on my list! One you should definitely try (if you havent already) is the Paper Moon Diner near hopkins!

    3. January 12, 2009 4:30 pm

      Hi Ashley! Thanks for your comment! Wow, we have a lot in common! Don’t you just love dim sum?! Har gow is my favorite.
      Just read in your previous post that you are reading Eat Pray Love. Just finished it myself. Let me know what you think!
      I can’t believe you squatted for 6 minutes straight–that is amazing!

    4. January 12, 2009 5:40 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I’m totally loving the shoes! After looking around through a bunch of programs I am also using the Jeff Galloway training schedule(for a 5K)!! Have a good night! 🙂

    5. January 12, 2009 5:51 pm

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! Your race schedule looks great- you can definitely do it!

    6. January 12, 2009 6:06 pm

      I’m running a 10K at the end of April too so you’ll have to blog about how your training and stuff is going! I’m also hoping to do a half-marathon by the end of May, but we’ll see how it goes. I’d like to run a full marathon in 2010!

      That breakfast looks DELISH! What kind of cereal is that?!

    7. January 12, 2009 6:20 pm

      wow have fun training, i’m sure you’ll do incredible!
      I’m loving the look of that cereal and with strawberries- yum!
      Oh and pineapple express is an awesome name, though it just reminds me of that movie- oh is it suppose to??
      have a fantastic day 🙂

    8. January 12, 2009 7:17 pm

      thank you for your sweet comment. i’ve added your blog to my google reader so i can keep up with you, too – you’re a great fitness inspiration!

    9. January 12, 2009 9:39 pm

      Those blackberries look delish!

      I think Pineapple Express is a funny movie – does that help? 😛 Love the logo!

    10. Sweet and Fit permalink
      January 12, 2009 10:20 pm

      i love your logo! best of luck to you with your race schedule…I’m excited to keep reading your blog as you train for them. Where do you get all those amazing berries from?

    11. January 13, 2009 12:20 am

      love the logo!! looks good!
      the strawberries look good too =)

    12. January 13, 2009 12:25 am

      Great goals! Best of luck with all of them.

      I am loving the logo, BTW.

    13. January 13, 2009 12:45 am

      Thanks for the comment. Your race schedule looks awesome! Definitely not something I can do, but never say never, right? I also like the name you came up with- very cute!

    Leave a Reply

