Skip to content

RAVENS

January 11, 2009

The ravens won last night!!! 🙂 So pumped! 

baltimore-ravens-logo-poster-c10071230

So yoga yesterday was another success. the class was led by a different teacher with a completely different style, and I loved it again.  I can tell this is going to be a great little journey for me. I signed up for the 11 week session along with my mom, and we signed up for the Wed night class. So next Wed i’ll tell you guys how official class #1 goes 🙂 at the end of the class, she read an inspirational quote, and gave it to us to take home.  What a way to start your day off with a little yoga and some inspiration. 

photo-13

Before yoga I had a small bowl of cereal to get me through the hour and a half, and then after yoga was over we went to Dunkin Donuts. I got a medium french vanilla coffee and one of their new DDSmart menu items. I got the egg white veggie flatbread sandwhich. It has only 290 cals, and 9 grams of fat. and the best part of the whole thing is, I loved it! it actually tasted really good. Next time if I need a good to go breakfast option this will be it! 

photo2

Later in the day I finally decided to get some almond butter. I have seen it everywhere in the blog world, but have never tried it before. I would REALLY love to try some Barney Butter, but i don’t know if I want to pay the shipping to get the Barney Butter over to me. Do any of you Barney Butter fans out there? Is it worth it? 

i got the Maranatha organic raw almond butter and tried it with an apple.  It tasted exactly like i bit into an almond. I’m not sure, but I think I would like the roasted almond butter better, but I’m going to do some experimenting and more tasting and see how i like it.  For lunch I made myself a turkey, hummus, laughing cow, artichoke, spinach panini. longest name ever. Threw it in the foreman grill, and voila, it was a delicious pressed sandwhich. It was exactly what I was craving. 

photo-31photo-24photo-41

Plans for the night were to go to dinner at The Blue Agave restaurant in Baltimore and then to go out after. Dinner wasn’t until 8:15 because of the Ravens game, so to get me through to dinner I had some blackberries and strawberries with some plain yogurt and some sprinkles of my favorite pumpkin granola. 

photo-51

I got a glass of Sangria, which at this restaurant is supposed to be the best in town. It was delicious. I wasn’t in the mood for a margarita, and  the Sangria was calling my name. I snagged a few chips and salsa and  ended up getting the roasted vegetable enchiladas. It didn’t really look too appetizing, and to be honest, I didn’t really even like it all that much.  I ate about half of it. It was kind of bland? Needed something to kick it up a notch. I had a bite of my friend Lauren’s steak and chicken burrito, and that was much better. I won’t even show you guys the pic of my dinner. It isn’t a pretty sight.  We didn’t end up going to the magic show I was telling you guys about. We went out to a bar though afterwards, and I had my fair share of birthday celebration drinks! They had slushies!!

photo-61

Speaking of the birthday girl…. she is one of my very best friends. We met right before freshman year at school during field hockey tryouts. We instantly became friends, and we ended up living with each other for 3 years. She is such an amazing friend. Heres a pic of some of my field hockey girls. I’m the one in the brown shirt, and she is the one to my left in the gray shirt. 

n38000824_30371656_32051

 

man i wish i still had that hockey tan.

hope you are all having a relaxing Sunday 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    January 11, 2009 2:52 pm

    URGH-why does MN NOT have dunkin donuts!? I cannot wait until I go to chicago in a few weeks and MUST stop to try this new menu hahaha. I am a fan of protein powders, hard core. It depends for the fav b/c my fav soy protein powder is the one in my pic (Genisoy, plain or vanilla). That tastes AWESOME mixed into things for thickening, like pudding or yogurt to make it creamier like Greek Yogurt. For whey protein, I keep it simple with designer whey protein in chocolate. I buy mine in bulk at GNC:)

  2. January 11, 2009 3:20 pm

    oh my gosh- i LOVE DD’s flatbread sandwich! esp the turkey sausage one. They are my favorite 🙂 I really like almond butter, it’s really good if you like almonds, it tastes straight up like them. I’ve never tried Barney Butter but I have heard so much about it, I feel like ordering some!

  3. January 11, 2009 3:35 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try a dd flatbeead sandwich maybe I’ll have one this week. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! And congrats on your ravens!

  4. January 11, 2009 4:01 pm

    How’s ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ treating you? I’m obsessed so that’s how I’m spending my Sunday!

    You managed to stay really healthy even though you went out! Last night after two glasses of wine and two martini’s I gorged myself on potatoe skins and ranch dressing. So good! Have a great day 🙂

  5. January 11, 2009 4:21 pm

    Welcome to the wonders of almond butter!
    I love dippind apples and bananas in it!

  6. Kate permalink
    January 11, 2009 4:40 pm

    Good question! Here’s a site that says a lot of the key benefits/disadvantages of each.

    http://www.myfittribe.com/articles/20070515/soy-vs-whey-debate-continues.html

    As for personal opinion, I tend to choose the soy ones for taste and the whey after a hard work out…but it’s my liking for the particular brands I use of those:)

  7. January 11, 2009 6:58 pm

    how did you like the almond butter compared to peanut butter? almond butter is good, but will never replace peanut butter!

  8. January 11, 2009 8:40 pm

    that flatbread looks amazing!

    i love sangria! so glad you enjoyed it!

  9. January 11, 2009 9:06 pm

    Good to hear you liked the egg white sandwich. I heard from a few sources that it tasted like cardboard, but maybe they aren’t used to healthy eats 🙂 I’ll give it a try if I’m ever in a pinch for breakfast!
    Re: Barney Butter… the first time I tried it I thought it was just ok. I really loved TJ’s almond butter and Barney butter tasted absolutely nothing like it. I have been eating it for a few months until recently trying the TJ’s almond butter again (my first ab love!). Well, I realized that I’ve become a real barney butter addict. I can’t eat the other stuff anymore, and peanut butter is definitely not as good either (although it does depend on my mood… sometimes pb hits the spot too!). So yeah, I’d say it’s worth the shipping. You may not be in love right away, but you’ll probably be addicted by the time you finish the jar 🙂

  10. Sweet and Fit permalink
    January 11, 2009 9:56 pm

    that quote goes perfectly with the theme of your blog! I love those things, i think they might be called “affirmations”…but not sure. I never knew that Dunkin’ Dounuts had a Smart Menu, I need to hit that up sometime soon because I used to go there all the time to pick up those mini dounuts (muchkins?), but i have been avoiding that place so I don’t get tempted to buy anything that unhealthy.

  11. January 11, 2009 10:41 pm

    I am so glad that you are enjoying yoga. It’s a wonderful thing!

    I’ve never had Barney Butter, but I do enjoy the kind of almond butter you can grind yourself. I’ve done it at Whole Foods and it’s delightful. Also, the one from Trader Joe’s is okay and very cheap.

  12. January 12, 2009 10:51 am

    As I always say, HELL YES for yoga 😀

    I looove almond-butter – ****this is the brand that I’m loyal too (for almond-butter, hazelnut-butter, pumpkin-seed-butter, and sunflower-seed-butter):

    http://www.futtersnutbutters.com/

  13. January 12, 2009 4:09 pm

    aww – cute picture! I got the raw almond butter by mistake one time and it is still in my fridge. I think I missed the salt? I did break down and order some barney butter one time and while it was really good – I like the maranatha, no-stir just as much…

Leave a Reply

