Skip to content

The Big Reveal

June 21, 2010

Not long after I landed my very first job after college I realized it may not be the right one for me. The economy was at a low, and I was lucky enough to have found a job at all. I would complain and people would remind me that I needed to be thankful and to stick it out.

I graduated college with a degree in graphic design. I also graduated with the idea in my head that since this was my major I would have to land a job in my field. Turns out, I’m not sure if graphic design is my true passion. I love doing it on the side, designing invitations, blog headers, etc but as a full time career? I’m not sure anymore.  I’ve realized that life is too short to be unhappy.  You have the power to change the direction you’re going in.  It lies in your hands you simply need to realize that and do whatever it takes to get what you want. I wanted to work for a company I was passionate about.

I’ve always been a little superstitious. 2010 is the year of the Tiger in the Chinese Zodiac. That’s my year. On the day of the new year I looked at my horoscope for the upcoming year and wrote down what was in store. Career-wise here’s what it said.

“This year presents opportunities of your wildest imaginings, but you will need abundant self discipline to make them realities.  Success is within your reach”

For some reason I thought that I would find a new job immediately after reading my horoscope. Not so much. It was full of ups and downs. Tears after hearing that I didn’t get the job that I had wanted so much. Picking yourself back up and brushing your shoulders off and getting right back on track.

Well friends, persistence and passion paid off. I landed the job of my dreams. I couldn’t be happier.  It is true, things always do work out the way they’re supposed to.  I didn’t get certain jobs, but that led me to this. I will be working for an amazing company with limitless opportunity.  I know that this is where I was meant to be. I felt so welcomed during my interviews, and left feeling like there was no other place for me. This is my last week at my current job, then I start my new one next Monday. Something that makes it even better? It’s about a mile from my house. The best commute.

The same week I start, is the week of my 24th birthday. A new beginning and the perfect way to start off a new year.  It feels so good to work so hard and see results. You can’t expect things to come your way easily, you’ve got to fight your way to the top but nothing beats the feeling when you reach your goals.

24 is going to be a good year :)

29 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 5:46 pm

    YAYAY!!! :) Congrats my love! :)

  2. June 21, 2010 5:48 pm

    Awww so excited for you! That is fantastic! Good luck in your new position :)

  3. June 21, 2010 5:51 pm

    YOU GO GIRL!!! So proud of you for remaining positive throughout your job hunt. You are so ambitious and I’m glad it paid off! LOVE YOU!

  4. June 21, 2010 5:53 pm

    Ahhh I had a feeling that it was a new job. =) SO excited for you!!

  5. Cara permalink
    June 21, 2010 5:54 pm

    Congratulations, my dear!!!! What is it, what is it?!? More like the big UN-reveal! :) Can’t wait to hear about your new gig!!

  6. June 21, 2010 8:26 pm

    Congrats! I feel the same way about graphic design. I’ve been doing it in a way for like 8 years and I’m just sick of it!

  7. June 21, 2010 8:37 pm

    Congrats girl! How exciting for you and good luck with the new job it sounds like you will have a great time :)

  8. June 21, 2010 9:24 pm

    Congrats on your new super fabulous job! Reading your story is inspiring to me because I’m finally searching for jobs after almost 7 years of post-highschool education…yikes! Finding something that I’m really passionate about is really important to me, and it gives me hope that you found your dream job…that maybe I can, too!

  9. June 21, 2010 10:01 pm

    CONGRATS!! You’re right, it’s not easy out there and for you to have found a job, AND one that you love is amazing. You deserve it!

  10. June 22, 2010 12:37 am

    For a big reveal, you have revealed relatively little about what this new dream job is! Inquiring minds want to know!

  11. June 22, 2010 5:58 am

    Congratulations!! Can’t wait to hear more about it!

  12. June 22, 2010 7:16 am

    I am SOOOO happy for you! I am in the exact same situation and this gives me hope that things WILL turn out right.

    I’m a tiger too :)

    Congrats again girl!!!

  13. June 22, 2010 8:19 am

    Congrats on the new job, it sounds perfect!!! I’d love to know a little more about what you’ll be doing.

  14. charmcitykim permalink
    June 22, 2010 8:19 am

    That is awesome!! Congrats on the new job (and new awesome commute)!

  15. June 22, 2010 8:20 am

    Oh my goodness, girl – congratulations!! As someone who is frantically looking for a job and hoping to get out of where I am, this gives me hope. You are right….everything certainly does happen for a reason. :-)

  16. Nina McDonough permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:37 am

    Congratulations Ash!!! I’m so happy for you! They’re lucky to have you!

  17. June 22, 2010 9:45 am

    Congratulations!! I’m so happy for you!! And I must admit, as someone searching for a job – this was really inspiring to read!

  18. Rachel permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:49 am

    woo hoo!!!! I’m so happy for you! It’s funny how things work out :)

  19. Jil @ Peace, Love & Munchies permalink
    June 22, 2010 10:36 am

    So happy for you!! That’s amazing! :)

  20. June 22, 2010 12:33 pm

    Ashley-that is so great! Congratulations!

  21. June 22, 2010 5:45 pm

    Wow, what a great post! Thank you for sharing that positive energy and words!

    So fantastic that you found your dream job and you followed your heart into finding it. I know how you feel (felt)… my major in college was hardly what I wanted to do as a career but I finally found my perfect career too and now I even get to work from home making way more than I ever imagined! I LOVE it.
    :)

  22. June 23, 2010 7:14 am

    ahhh i LOVE that you landed your dream gig and its so close. love love love it. happy for you!

    now, do all the crazy things at your old job that you wish you could have done before but knew you would get fired for… you know, like put salt in people’s coffee, take their food out of the office fridge, hide their desk chairs in the bathroom, mess up their papers and start talking to them about this crazy tornado that came by over night.
    :-D

  23. June 23, 2010 9:54 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am so excited for you! My commute is now 10 minutes one way – used to be two hours one way!

    Can’t wait to hear about the new job – just in time to turn 24! I am the opposite age – 42, but sometimes I still feel like 24! But wait, that would mean my daughter would be an infant – nevermind! :D

  24. June 23, 2010 3:49 pm

    Congrats! It’s true: everything happens for a reason!!

  25. June 24, 2010 9:43 am

    So happy that you landed your dream job! Something to be proud of for sure!

  26. June 25, 2010 2:14 pm

    Ashley, CONGRATULATIONS! I am so happy for you. I feel the same way about my new job :) It took my 3 years after college graduation to figure out what I was going to do, but it was worth the wait! Yay!

  27. June 28, 2010 6:22 am

    I know I’m late on this, but major congrats. I’m so happy for you and your is story is really inspiring! I’m still searching for my dream job so reading your story makes me feel as if it’s possible for me to find it one day!

    Now we need to know where it is you are working!?!

  28. July 3, 2010 6:56 am

    from your birthday, to the race recap, to this…you are BLESSED girl!! and you deserve every bit of it! Happy days!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Finds: Inspiration « Low… and behold!’s Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

